PART A

Report to: Annual Council

Date of Meeting: 11 June 2014

Report of: Democratic Services Manager

Title: Notice of Constitution of Political Groups

1. **SUMMARY**

Regulations made under the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 require formal notice to be given each year of the composition of political groups. This information also enables the requirements of the relevant section of that Act dealing with political balance on Council Committees to be complied with.

2.0 **RECOMMENDATIONS**

That Council notes the composition of the political groups on the Council as at 11 June 2014.

Contact Officer:

For further information on this report please contact Pat Thornton, Democratic Services Manager, telephone extension 8372. Email pat.thornton@watford.gov.uk

Report approved by the Head of Democracy & Governance.

3.0 **DETAILED DISCUSSION**

Details of Leaders, Deputy Leaders, Group Secretaries and membership are as follows:

Liberal Democrat Group

Leader:	Councillor Iain Sharpe
Deputy Leader	Councillor Karen Collett
Group Secretary	Councillor Peter Jeffree
Group Members:	Councillors:
	Aron, Bolton, J Brown, I Brown, Collett, Counter, Crout, Derbyshire, Hofman, Greenslade, Hastrick, Jeffree, Johnson, Lynch, Martins, McLeod, Saffery, Scudder, Sharpe, Taylor, Mayor Thornhill, Walford, Watkin and T. Williams

Labour Group

Leader:	Councillor Nigel Bell
Deputy Leader	Councillor Jagtar Singh Dhindsa
Group Secretary	Councillor Anne Joynes
Group Members:	Councillors:
	Bashir, Bell, Connal, Dhindsa, Joynes,
	Khan, Mauthoor, Mills, Shah,
	Turmaine and S.Williams.

<u>Other Members</u> Councillor Ian Brandon (Green)

Councillor Binita Mehta (Conservative)

4.0 IMPLICATIONS

4.1 Legal issues

Notification of membership complies with the Council's Constitution, Procedure Rule 24.0 and with the requirements of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990.

4.2 Other Implications

None

Background Papers:

Notifications submitted to the Democratic Services Manager under the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990.

Appendices: None

File Reference: None